40 Day Water Fast Day 2

Day 2 has had a few surprises, both good and bad. I went to bed last night at 9:30 knowing I had to get up at 6:30 and thinking my body would do all this rejuvenating and I woke wake up lighter and feeling refreshed. Ha! I woke up feeling and looking like poop and weighing the exact same. My body is already doing internal scrubbing and the gunk inside of me just hasn’t been flushed out yet, because I’m experiencing detox symptoms like mad already. I didn’t expect them so quickly. Here is what they are:

I woke up with a coated, filthy tongue and dry red eyes, despite all the water I drank on day 1. I had headaches off and on all day, and stiff joints, especially in my fingers and neck. A couple hours of off and on throbbing pain in the left side of my colon, and about 2 hours ago I started getting cramps along the entire bottom half of my intestines. Also, my appetite is completely gone, which I did not expect to happen for another few days. My spine was hurting and I had read that was from build up in the colon and that an enema would help. I hadn’t really done an enema before so I tried one when I got home from work. It did help clean out some build up, though I finished that experience thinking to myself “there’s plenty more where that came from…” the pain in my spine did go away almost immediately although the cramps are still here.

It’s relieving and a bit sobering that this is all started happening not even 48 hours into my fast. Relieving because I know it’s clearly what my body needs and I’m glad it’s releasing and cleansing so readily. It’s sobering because I know it’s because of all the crap I have been putting into it in the past, and I just want to apologize to my poor body for mistreating it so.

That’s all the updates I have for now. I’ll write again tomorrow! Currently I must go take an exam (the work never stops!)

Leave a Reply

